Aloo Bartha

As I am learning more and more Indian dishes, I tried for the first time to cook Aloo Bartha – or vegetable dish based of potatoes.

I am starting to get better at Indian cooking – apprehending the spices and base ingredients.
Maybe I haven’t made enough to discover the variety or I am just starting with the basics and getting better at it.
At least I can host my friends with basic Indian cooking and they love it.
That’s a good sign, isn’t it?

Alloo Bartha – potato vegetable dish

Put in a pan:
Some olive oil or 2 table spoon of ghee
1 tea spoon of cumin seeds (Jeera)
1 Tomato or 2 tomatoes depending on their size or tomato paste
Green chili
Ginger

Let it cook until all water is gone.

Add salt, coriander powder, red chili, a little bit of tamarin powder.
Let paste cook for 2 more minutes.

Add 1 table spoon of yoghurt.

Let it cook for 2 minutes till the oil separate out.

Add boiled potatoes.

Mix everything & add water 1.5 cup.

Add fresh coriander.

Let it boil & reduce the flame once it’s boiling, cover & let cook for 10 min, until you can see the layer of oil separating.

You can serve that as a side dish or eat with roti or bread.

When I cooked it, I made it as main dish with bread and had also a salad to go with it.

20121003-002608.jpg

Leave a Reply

